Advent is Here

It’s one of my most favorite times of the year, Christmas! I mean, who doesn’t love Christmas? And if asked, I, like you, could probably spitfire a couple dozen reasons why we love Christmas. But lately I’ve been thinking about the real reason why I love Christmas.

Yesterday, at church, we kicked off the season of Advent. I’m excited by this because it seems the older I get the more I think about why we celebrate Christmas. Now, don’t get me wrong, I love Christmas for all that comes with the holiday; the lights, the decorations, the food, the family time, the presents. But Christmas is so much more than any of those things.

I know I might risk sounding cliche’ but for me Christmas really is about Jesus. Over the next couple of weeks I want to talk about why it is so important that we as believers stay focused on what this season is all about. I’m no saint. I know how easy it is to get caught up in all the flash and folly that comes with the Christmas holiday. And for me, that’s why we need to be reminded of what Christmas is all about.

Last night we continued with a family tradition. For a number of years now, we have used the Thanksgiving weekend as our weekend to decorate for Christmas. So late in the afternoon the tree came out of storage and the decorations went up. It was fun to watch the kids hang their ornaments. We also started our Advent tradition of reading an Advent storybook as a family. This year we are reading Jotham’s Journey, an amazing adventure story that will help remind our kids of Jesus’ birth.

But what really gets me excited is knowing that, as a family, we will be celebrating this Christmas together and with Jesus in our hearts. I hope that you will join me this month as I share some thoughts, resources, and fun ideas that you can do with your family this Christmas.

– jay

Leave a Reply

