Starting Day One of NYWC 2013

Good morning. It’s early. Well, it’s early when you stay up too late the night before you’re suppose to take a 9 hour drive, then wake up early to finish church stuff, pack, and hit the road. And last night, my roommate never arrived. Which isn’t good or bad, it’s just when you are unsure if someone will be coming into the room in the middle of the night, you don’t seem to sleep very well.

No bother, it’s day one of my 2013 NYWC experience. Well the convention doesn’t start officially till Thursday, we’re here getting things set up and ready to go.

This is my fourth year serving with the convention volunteer staff. The prior three appearances had me working with the seminar team. The seminar team worked with all the presenters leading the various seminars, specifically handling the room logistics; set up, media/computer hook ups, troubleshooting, and anything else that a speaker might need.

This year I will be working with the Big Room Team. The big rooms is where all the general session activities take place. Being my first year with this team, I have an idea of what they do, but I’m not 100% sure as to what I will be doing. Nonetheless, I am stoked!!

So here are some first things learned, thus far.

1. I still get excited about attending the National Youth Workers Convention.
As I drove into Nashville, all the familiar sights triggered a sense of excitement. I was here! I made it! I’m back! NYWC represents a certain belonging for me. As I share in my first Vlog, NYWC is where I found my people; those who look like me, talk like me, dress like me, care for the same things I care for, love students, and have the same facial hair look.

Walking into the hotel was like walking into a family home. There was a weird sense of comfort, familiarity, with the surroundings. And just thinking about the convention bring memories of conventions past. I can’t wait for everything to get started!

2. I love hotel pillows.
As soon as I put my head down, i fell in love with my pillows. I met have to either find out where they get them, or how to get one or two in my bag. (Just kidding, I don’t even take the complimentary toiletries.)

3. Starbucks Coffee in the hotel lobby is way more expensive then I remembered.
I loaded my card before I left, but I don’t think it will last me till Monday.

4. It’s super cool to walk around Broadway in Nashville with a guitar strapped to your back.
Yep, everywhere, guys are walking around with a guitar on their back or in their hands.

5. I am thrilled to see what God is going to do.
Last night I tried to spend some time journaling and praying. The problem was, I didn’t know what to pray for. I didn’t know what to say. So instead, I just told God, I am open. I know I need to reconnect with Him. I know I need time with Him. I know I need His strength. And so, this week, I am at His disposal. What will that look like? What will He say? What will He do? I don’t know, but I can’t wait!!

NYWC 2013. Nashville. Only a few hours into it and I am already sitting on the edge of my seat. Fasten those seat belts, it’s going to be an exciting ride!

– jay

* Are attending the National Youth Workers Convention in Nashville, TN? Be sure to follow my. I will be tweeting, blogging, vlogging, instagramming, and whatever else I can do, ALL WEEK LONG!!
– twitter.com/jayhigham
– facebook.com/highamjay
– instagram @jayhigham
– youtube.com/jayhigham
And be sure to look for if you are here! Say hi!

Leave a Reply

