Spirit Rising, By Jim Cymbala

SpiritRising_Schuchmann_coverThis week I finished reading Jim Cymbala’s book, Spirit Rising, Tapping into the Power of the Holy Spirit. The first thing I need to say is, amazing! Truly a book that both church leaders and their congregations should read, discuss and practice.

Here’s what’s so awesome about this book. As you know, I am waist deep in planting a church in North Strabane Township, south of Pittsburgh, PA. It has been a journey of epic proportions thus far with plenty of highs and lows, and ups and downs. One of the lessons I feel God has been teaching me is that no matter what happens, God is in control. With God in control, the challenge for me is learning to trust him with literally EVERYTHING! Yes. EVERYTHING! The second big lesson I am learning is how to call on and rely on the power of the Holy Spirit. Now, I know the role of the Holy Spirit. However, I am finding myself in a place where I am experiencing the power of the Holy Spirit in a new way.

Recently, my wife and I have had multiple, and I mean multiple conversations with people about the power of the Holy Spirit, the Baptism of the Holy Spirit, and the working of the gifts of the Holy Spirit. These conversations have prompted extensive reading and study. So it comes as no surprise that it was recommended that I read this book.

Jim Cymbala, writes to everybody, in a way that everybody will understand. No complicated theology. No ancient doctrine. No denominational presuppositions. This book is Jim, teaching the power of the Holy Spirit through Biblical evidence and support, along with the testimonies of those who have experienced first hand the very real and very timely work of the Holy Spirit.

For me, Jim’s insight and real-life stories of God’s blessing through the Holy Spirit serve as a convicting reminder that as disciples, we need to rely and expect that the Spirit will show up in our faith journey to do amazing things in and through us.

I was raised in the church. It was a great church. It set up the foundations of my theology and doctrine. However, I don’t think I was ever made aware that the power of the Spirit was something that we should still be tapping into today. Now I believe that the Spirit reveals and teaches. That He provide wisdom, guidance and understanding. I believe that the Spirit blesses believers with spiritual gifts. But now I also believe that these gifts are more than the powers that once helped to build the ancient church. These powers are for now, as we continue to seek the building up of God’s church, today!

If you have ever wondered about the working of the Holy Spirit, wanting to know more about his role in the ministry of the church and in the lives of believers today, I highly recommend that you pick up a copy of Spirit Rising, and begin reading immediately. As a church leader, I need the power of the Spirit working in and through me to fulfill the calling of Pastor. As a disciple of Jesus Christ, the Holy Spirit becomes a necessity in living a life of faith and obedience.

Get Spirit Rising. Read Spirit Rising. And live Spirit Rising.

Check out this video interview with Jim Cymbala on the 700 Club.

– jay

Looking to order a copy of Spirit Rising? Use the links below.

Printed Edition: Spirit Rising: Tapping into the Power of the Holy Spirit

Kindle Edition: Spirit Rising: Tapping into the Power of the Holy Spirit

Leave a Reply

