Another Chapter Closes…


Today was like any other day. I woke. I went to work. I met the wife and kids at a school basketball game. I taxied 4 of the 5 kids home and 1 to another basketball practice. I had dinner. Yes, it’s a day like any other day, with 1 exception. Today is the day we finally closed on the house in Somerset.

That’s right! We are no longer home owners!

After a long and at times, frustrating experience, the old house in Somerset is now a home to someone else. It’s an excited thing for us because to brings to close another chapter in our life-story. Somerset was a wonderful time for us. 5 years Serving St. Paul’s and living in a great small town community and the additional 2 years living in the Somerset area while working at Pine Springs all make for some special memories. These memories will be treasured for years to come. But I can’t help but be excited to know that we are finally moving on.

The last couple of months have been great, and we have settled into our new community reason quickly and well. But carrying the Somerset house this long has been stressful. The utilities, the worry, the waiting, the anxiety, it takes it’s toll. But through it all I can say, with complete confidence and without hesitation, our God is AMAZING!

When we left the security of a ministry that cared for us in incredible ways, we stepped out in absolute faith that God would provide for us. I committed to trusting God. I committed to taking the back seat in the things that I had no control over, while doing the best I could with what God had allowed me to control. It wasn’t easy. On more than one occasion, we found ourselves in places where the only thing that could be said was, “Okay, God, what now? We’ve done all we can do. Now it’s up to you.”

It’s a humbling place to be when you find yourself looking up because there’s no other place to look. But every time we looked up, God showed up and proved his love by providing for exactly what we needed. I said I was trusting God, and I was. I had to. I trusted because I wanted to tell the story he’s writing for us. I want to sing his praises; declare his faithfulness and show the world that he is the One, True, Living God.

The final selling of the Somerset house closes another chapter in our lives. And again, another example of how good our God is. I’d love to tell you all the ups and downs, the challenges and the trials, but it would read better as a chapter in a book and not as a blog post.

Instead, can I encourage you with something? No matter what it is that you are dealing with, God knows exactly what your needs are. He knows exactly what your doing. And he know exactly how it all comes together. He will never abandon you. So instead of panicking, remember what Paul writes in 1 Thessalonians 5:16-18, “Be joyful always; pray continually; give thanks in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.”

– jay

*I’d love to hear from you. Share a comment, story, thought, or question below! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

