A Day to Give Thanks

This has been one of our most exciting years. And as I look back, there is much we have to be thankful for. I thought I’d take just few quick minutes to fire off some of the things for which I am thankful for.

(in random order)

St. Paul’s Presbyterian Church: This year we left an amazing church family. In all of my church experience, St. Paul’s was a truly wonder and healthy church to work for. The people are loving and cared for us well. The leadership is godly and wise. And the staff are simply amazing. I am thankful for their love, support and prayers as we made the move from youth pastor to church planter/lead pastor.

Our Awesome Small Group: Words are not nearly enough when it comes to saying thank you to these incredible friends. Our small group is truly awesome! Their live, support, encouragement, prayers, and constant friendships are a real source of joy in our lives. I am grateful for all that they have done in being the hands and feet of Jesus.

For Our New Church Family: We are young and growing, but the community is already growing. We are grateful for the love and support of our new church family as they welcome us as their new pastor. We look forward to many, many years for exciting ministry together.

For My Wonderful Family: These people are a true blessing. It’s not easy to relocate and start over again. Yet, the 6 dearest people to me have done just that. I am grateful for a family who trusts Me to listen and follow God’s lead for our lives. It’s a humbling responsibility to lead a family, and I don’t take it lightly. I love each one of you and will do my best to love and serve you well.

For My Godly Wife: There is now woman in the world like her. For 16 years she has followed me, trusted me, loved me, forgiven me, endured me, and wowed. She has been my greatest support, encourager, friend, lover, and prayer warrior. I am so blessed to have her in my life.

For the Adventure that we call Life: I don’t know why God has chosen me for this journey, but I am so glad he did. Every step a learning experience. Every trial a joy. Every success a celebration. There is much to share but so little time to share it all. All praise and glory and honor to God my Father for all he has done. I thank him for his love, his mercy, and his gift of grace.

I hope that you too find much to be thankful for on this day of giving thanks. May the God of all creation continue to demonstrate s grace in your life as you wake with the sun until you sleep into eternity.

Happy Thanksgiving.

– jay

Leave a Reply

