Five Things I’m Looking Forward to as a Canonsburg Resident

In just a few weeks the family and I will be making the move from Somerset to Canonsburg. As we get closer and closer to the reality of the move, we grow more and more excited about where we will be living. So I thought I’d share some of the things I’m looking forward to as a Canonsburg resident.

1. Big Macs. Many know I love McDonald’s and their deliciously wonderful Big Mac sandwich. (I experienced a little bit of heaven about a year ago when I won a coupon for a free Big Mac a week for a year. What a year.) But these Big Macs aren’t of the “2 all beef patties special sauce lettuce cheese pickle onions on a sesame seed bun” variety. (And yes, I sang that as I typed it.) No the “Big Macs” I’m looking forward to are the Canon-McMillan Big Macs. One of the joys of my life is watching my kids participate in school sports. With two in middle school, I’m looking forward to seeing them play for our new school district. Football, basketball, baseball, soccer, and what ever other sports may come along. We’ve got five kids; 4 boys and 1 girl. That means a lot of years of sports ahead.

2. Vincent’s Pizza in Southpointe. We love pizza. But we really love good pizza. When we started pursuing the possibilities of being called to plant a church in the Canonsburg area, we were introduced to Vincent’s Pizza. It was love at first bite. The pizza is amazing. And the wings are fantastic. Dinner at Vincent’s in Sounthpointe is almost a regular event. We worship. Then we visit Vincent’s. Vincent’s is located on Morganza Rd. by the Southpointe ramp to 79.

3. Perry Como. Did you know that Perry Como grew up in Canonsburg? He did. And one of my favorite spots is the statue erected in his honor and memory. The statue is located in town just in front of the police staton. The best part… Perry sings to you. You got it, Perry Como’s music is played from the statue. It’s like a free Como concert!

4. Sarris’ Ice Cream Parlor. The Sarris’ Ice Ream Parlor was introduce to me first by the students I was minister back in 1999. Like something from the past, Sarris’ was a neon delight. Going to Sarris’ was more than a trip to get ice cream. It was an adventure back in time. It’s actually hard to describe the store. It Somethng you just have to experience. Not too long ago, the ice cream parlor suffered a fire. I wasn’t able to see what the damage did, but the shop is open again. We’ve yet to visit since and look forward to see if it was restored or remodeled. I’m sure it won’t be long before we’re heading there for some ice cream.

5. Being Home. I was born and raised in Phladelphia. And I love Philly. It will always be my original home. But having spent the last 13 years living in Western PA, I have a second home, and it’s Canonsburg. You see, it was in the PT/Canon-Mac area that Amy and I we up in ministry. We were young, married for only two years. We were parents with one in our arms and number two quickly on his way. We were wided-eye and ready and jumped with both feet into being a youth pastor and his wife. For almost six years we poured everything we had into our calling. As a youth worker, here was where I cut my teeth in ministry. I preached to an adult congregation for the first time here. I went from being a youth director to a youth pastor. It was during those early years that I fell in love with the people and area of Washington County. This was my home. This was where I was raising my family. Even after we moved away to accept a new call, Canonburg and Peters Township still claimed a part of my heart. And every and any excuse to visit was quickly welcomed. Now, I get to move my family back to the place where we began growing our family.

It’s just a few weeks away. The moving truck will be loaded and we will make the trip home. And this time, if it’s the Lord’s will, we’ll be home to stay.

– jay

Leave a Reply

