YWTD #43 – Turn Off Your Social Media


Tip: Turn Off Your Social Media, When in the Office.

Social Media has become a huge part of our lives. It’s how we communicate. Text, tweet, post, pin, link… we all do it. Personally, I love social media. I use it, a lot! Social Media is a great tool. As a Youth Pastor, it’s a way to keep in touch with your students, see what’s happening in their lives, and promote your youth programing.

But for as much as social media is a tool, it can also be an hindrance.

A couple of weeks ago, I did something I don’t usually do. I left a Facebook page open on my second desktop screen. Now my Facebook is usually open, but I leave it on my home status page to watch the various status updates. I do this mostly to see which of my students might be posting things from school. But on this occasion I left a group page open. I was amazed at how active the page was. Here it was, the middle of the morning, and posts were dropping ever minute or two. It didn’t take long and I was totally involved.

But what I found was, I was distracted. Really distracted. It was hard to stay focused on what I needed to get done, because I kept checking to see who was saying what. Two hours later, I had to turn the screen off. I wasn’t getting anythings accomplished.

It dawned up me that if we’re not careful, social media can be dangerous. If we allows ourselves to be distracted too frequently, we’ll find ourselves behind the “8-ball” working twice as hard to get caught up again. Not to mention the poor work habits and dishonesty of how we spend our time.

So let me share with you todays tip; Turn off the Social Media during the time you need to be focused. Check them in the morning when you first arrive, like when you check your email. Respond to what you NEED to respond to, then move on with the rest of your day. Shut down Facebook, Twitter, or whatever other media outlets that cause the distractions. Focus on the work you have to accomplish. Maybe check again over your lunch hour, but be sure to shut it down again when lunch is over!!!

I’m not knocking social media, just encouraging us to be better pastors.

Leave a Reply

