Holy Week 2012 – The Finish

The Finish
John 19:28-30

The Death of Jesus

28 Later, knowing that everything had now been finished, and so that Scripture would be fulfilled, Jesus said, “I am thirsty.” 29 A jar of wine vinegar was there, so they soaked a sponge in it, put the sponge on a stalk of the hyssop plant, and lifted it to Jesus’ lips. 30 When he had received the drink, Jesus said, “It is finished.” With that, he bowed his head and gave up his spirit.

Have you ever completed a project only to step back, take a good long look at your work and say, “It’s finished.” It’s a good feeling isn’t it. Just knowing the amount of hard work, determination, and the fact that you followed it through to completion makes it all worth it. Recently, I re-landscaped the front and back yards of our house. It was hard work. It was dirty work. It was sweaty work. But when it was done, it looked great. And I felt good.

I’m not sure that was the feeling that day when Jesus was on the cross. Jesus came to fulfill a purpose. He had a mission. And he lived his life with the purpose of completing that mission. Jesus was sent by God to die on the cross for the sins of mankind. This was why he was born. It’s why he came to the earth. And now, his mission was complete.

In those final hours of his life, Christ endured the most brutal and humiliating treatment. Like a lamb led to slaughter, Jesus submitted all and gave up his life.

I think about those last words, “It is finished.” What a statement! Jesus obediently completed what the Father had sent him to do. Now on the cross, it was accomplished. I don’t know if Jesus felt the same sense of pride that I do when I look at the finished landscaping project, but in some strange way, I do think Jesus recognized and knew the eternal impact of what he had just done for us. It WAS finished.

It’s humbling when I think about what Jesus did for me on that cross. Christ did for me what I couldn’t do on my own. He died for my sins. He paid the penalty for my debt. He bore the pain. He endured the humility. And he did it all because he loves me.

The same can be said of you. Jesus didn’t just die for my sin. He died for your sin as well. He laid down his life for your sake. It was your name on his mind. It was his love for you that held him to that cross.

“It is finished,” is more than the act of dying on the cross. “It is finished,” also means that your debt has been paid. Your sins can be forgiven. And you can experience a life forever with the Father and his Son! All you have to do, is give your life to him.

The bible says, that if we truly believe in our hearts that Jesus died for our sins on the cross and was raised from the dead, then we will be saved. (Romans 10:9-10) Do you believe? If you do, you will be saved.

– jay

*The Finish, is written as part of the week long Holy Week series called, A Walk Through Holy Week. Join us this week as Jay posts daily readings and thoughts the family of Harvest Church. www.HarvestChurchToday.org.

Leave a Reply

