Making Holy Week Less Technical


This week the Higham’s are issuing a tech-black out! What is that? Well, we are turning off the extra media components that fill our lives. iPods, iPads, DS’s, cell phones, texting, internet, and even some of our regular TV watching. Now this isn’t a full black out, I still have to work and get ready for Harvest in the evenings. But for the most part, we will be leaving some of the extras out of our lives this week.

Why?

Because I think we need to. We are too overly stimulated and connected to our devices. I know, that sounds like heresy coming from me, but it’s true. A couple of weeks ago, the Higham’s downloaded Word’s with Friends. It’s a great app. And we enjoy playing it. However, I’m not sure that it’s a great idea that we are all playing it at the same time while sitting next to each other in the living room while watching American Idol.

And while technology is a wonderful thing, it changes how the family interacts with each other. As we prepare to make the jump from youth pastor to lead pastor, I’ve begun asking myself some tough questions about life, family, faith, and what God is calling us to do and be. I want more for my family than just cool toys. I want deeper relationships. I want meaningful conversation. I want memories formed but doing things together.

Why Holy Week?

Choosing to do this over Holy Week will allow us to concentrate on the life and sacrifice of Jesus. By taking away the distractions of technology, our hope is to create time to enjoy each other as a family, to talk about Easter and Christ’s gift of life.

Oh, we’re not getting rid of the gadgets. Just trying to learn how to use them wisely and make our family healthier.

How about you? What are you doing this week with your family that separates Holy Week from every other week of your life? Please share your traditions, plans, goals, and ideas!

– jay

Leave a Reply

