New Adventures in Ministry

1992. I was a junior in high school. I was introduced to a newer Christian music group called, dcTalk. Three guys who mixed the flavors of Rap, Rock, and Soul. Their 1990 release, Nu Thang, was an anthem of things to come. There was a change coming. A movement of sorts to the genre known as Contemporary Christian Music. There title cut, Nu Thang, spoke of how God was doing a “new thing,” using rap music as a way to reach the masses.

Who would have known. God was doing a new thing.

But I think God is always doing new things. I think He is always trying to push His followers to see how He is working and moving within the world. I believe He still wants us to join Him where He is doing a “Nu Thang.”

And that’s where I am, on the verge of something new. Not new in the sense that no one has ever done this before. But “new” in the sense of what He is doing in the here and now. He is starting a new church. How does that effect us? Because we are a part of it.

This past Sunday night, I gathered the students and leaders from our current ministry together and shared with them our decision to resign our position as Director of Youth and Family Ministries. It wasn’t an easy decision nor was it easy to share.

But what made it exciting was the opportunity to talk about the new things that God was doing. This summer we will embark on a new adventure in ministry. Along with a group of 30 people, we will plant a new church in the Washington County area of Western, PA.

For 20 years I have ministered to students and their families. But over the last 5 years, have felt a stirring in my heart; that God was preparing us for something more. While I still love ministry to students, I have also discovered a real passion for a ministry to the church as a whole! To care for adults, students and children, to reach out into a community, to share life; these are the things that God has awakened a desire for. And I can’t wait to be part of it.

Church planting. Never thought I would do such a thing. But I don’t think I have ever been more excited. I know that God will use this to stretch me, challenge me, grow me, and amaze me.

“God is doin’ a nu thang, in our lives now,
He’s doing a nu thang, through Jesus Christ…”
(Nu Thang, dcTalk, 1990.)

I will be sharing more about the nu thang that God is doing in our lives over the next couple of days; our decision process to resign, what we are doing in our current ministry as we prepare to leave, what we will be doing this summer, and information about the new ministry we are being called to.

So be sure to visit the blog this week.

– jay

3 thoughts on “New Adventures in Ministry

  1. Excited for you bro! Thankful for your faithfulness and your willingness to let God lead you and your family. It goes without saying that if you need anything, let us know. I’ll be praying for you and your family.

    Like

  2. Pingback: This Week at JayHigham.com – 3.12.12 « JayHigham.com

Leave a Reply

