The Start of Saying Goodbye


This past Sunday evening, I announced my resignation as the Director of Youth and Family Ministries, here at St. Paul’s. Here is a copy of the announcement.

Here is what Jay shared…

I want to begin by thanking all of you for being here this evening. I know that the announcement of this meeting may have come as a “last minute” thing, so you being here means a lot.

There is no easy way to say this, so I am just going to say it.

After much prayer, I am resigning as the Director of Youth and Family Ministries, effective June 29th, 2012.

Tomorrow night, my official letter of resignation will be presented and read to the Session, but it was very important for me to be able to tell you personally.

Now I am sure that you might have some questions, and I want to take all the time that is needed to answer your questions and talk to you about this decision and what will happen in the coming months. But before I do that, I would like to say a few things about what is going to happen between now and the end of the school year.

NOTHING IS CHANGING…
The first thing I want you to know is that nothing is changing. Crossroads will continue to be Crossroads and I will continue to be your youth pastor through the end of June. What does that mean? That means everything that we are doing right now will continue to happen as it would if I was not living.

So, HSM will continue to meet on Sunday mornings between 9:45 and 10:45 a.m.

Overdrive will continue to meet on Sunday evenings between 6:00 to 8:00 p.m. and according to the calendar.

All activities and events schedule till the end of the year will all happen.
The Valentine’s Dinner and Movie this weekend – still on.
The Crossroads’ Birthday Party on the 26th – still on.
The 30 Hour Famine on March 16-17 – still on.
The Year End Events – still on.

Our Bible Studies and Ministry Opportunities will still take place.
The new After School Bible on Thursdays – On.
The reorganization of the Student Leadership and Ministry Teams – On.

And I will be working as your youth pastor straight through till June 30th.
I will still come to your sporting events and cheer you on.
I will still visit you if there is an emergency as long as someone tells me about it.
I will still be in the office.
I will still be with you on Sunday mornings and Sunday evenings.
I will still be connecting with you, caring for you, meeting with you, hanging out with you, and praying for you.

And as of right now, none of the Adult Leaders are going any where. So that means…
Care Groups will continue to meet as Care Groups.
You Care Group Leader will still be your Care Group Leader.
dGROUPS will not change.
dGROUP Leaders will still be dGROUP Leaders.

So What will happen from Now through June.
I have spoken with Pastor Keith, and one of the things we both desire and agree on is that, we want this year of Crossroads to finish as strong as possible. So I will be continuing as the youth pastor till my last day at St. Paul’s. We don’t want things to just stop and fall apart.

So we have put together a new calendar that will carry us through the end of the school year. This calendar will show you that we are going to do everything possible to keep everything going. But it will be up to you and your decision to stay connected and plugged in to what’s going on in and around Crossroads.

While some things between now and May will experience a transition as I hand off some of the things I am responsible for around the church, transition will not happen at Crossroads until June. That means, I will be functioning and serving as your youth pastor with now change. But come June, after we have started the summer break, I will begin preparing to leave and get things ready for whoever my replacement will be.

So… to summarize…

Nothing is changing…

All activities and events are still on…

Bible studies and ministry opportunities are still going to happen…

I will still be your youth pastor…

Your dGROUP and Care Group Leaders will still be here…

And we are going to do everything we can to make sure Crossroads is still Crossroads and that this year will end well.

As much as Jay had hope to tell as many people in person as possible, new spreads fast, and trying to tell everyone is difficult. But Jay wants to let you know, if you have questions or want to know more about why he is leaving, where is is going, and what he will be doing, he would love the opportunity to share and answer your questions.”

Saying good-bye is never easy. But I am determined to finish this part of the race as strong as possible!

– jay

Leave a Reply

