Youth Worker Tip of the Day – 08.19.2011


Tip: Place family before ministry. They are your No. 1!

Today is my #2 son’s 12th birthday. It’s a special day; for him and our family. Friday is also the day I set aside as a day off. This summer, we have tried to use our Fridays as family days.

I can’t tell you how important it is that you establish your priorities. In ministry, we will be quickly overwhelmed with all that needs to be, could be, and should be done. Busying ourselves with “ministry” is dangerous, especially when we sacrifice our family for the our work.

I learned a long time ago how important it is to have a healthy balance between ministry and family. Now I’m not saying I’ve nailed it every time, but I try really hard to put my family first.

As you set your schedule for the week; your meetings, one-on-ones, study time, message writing, planning, etc., be sure to leave time for your family. Sit with your spouse and go over your schedule. Allow her to have say in your schedule.

Family time is so important. Make it an important part of your ministry.

– jay

Leave a Reply

