Why I Call Her My Bride

Jon Acuff posted a great article yesterday about calling our wives, our “brides.” Be sure to read Jon’s article here; stuffchristianslike.com.

This is something I actually have started doing. There was a certain Christian radio DJ that always referred to his wife as his beautiful bride and it drove me crazy. But all of that has changed.

A year ago, I officiated for my first wedding. I wed two of my former students. The opportunity was exciting. The pre-marital counseling, the service planning, the preparation, study, and prayer, it all came together to give me a deeper appreciation for my wife and the union God has blessed us with. It was shortly after that wedding when I started thinking about my wife as my beloved bride.

The imagery comes from scripture; Christ the bride-groom, his church the bride. Ephesians 5, is one of my favorite portions of scripture, and not because verse 22 says that wives should submit to their husbands. I love this chapter because it is a clear statement of how we are to live. Verse 1 kicks it off with these words, “Be imitators of God…”

Our lives, and every aspect of our lives, should imitate God. How? Verse 2, “and live a life of love, just as Christ loved us and gave himself up for us as a fragrant offering and sacrifice to God.” We are to live a life of love.

I don’t think it’s mere coincidence that in the same chapter, Paul makes the following statement, “Husbands, love your wives, just as Christ loved the church and gave himself up for her…” (v. 25)

What an awesome charge to husbands. We are to love our wives the same way Christ loves his church? Wow! That’s huge!!

My wife is more that the mother of my children, the one who cares for my house, the one who makes my dinner, the one who provides me with companionship. She is a living reminder to I am to be like Christ and give all I have up for her.

Consider the following verses for just a few minutes. Ponder the image that Paul presents; verse 26-27 “to make her holy cleansing her by the washing with water through the word, and to present her to himself as a radiant church, without stain or wrinkle or any other blemish, but holy and blameless.”

Wow, I mean, really, WOW!! Am I living and loving in a way that brings glory to God, and honor to my wife? Am I pouring myself out in such a way, that she knows that I love her? Am I leading her, bringing her before the Lord as a righteous woman? Sadly, I fear I fail more than I succeed in this.

My bride is a picture of the relationship Christ has with his church. I want to love her the same way Christ loves his church. By calling her, my bride, I am reminding myself of the great responsibility I have to love, care, and lead her and my family.

– jay

2 thoughts on “Why I Call Her My Bride

Leave a Reply

