Back to Reality Post SYMC Blues

There nothing like a quick dose of reality to bring you back to the grind of life and ministry. Without fail, our return home following SYMC reminded me that life isn’t always filled with friends, encouragement, and amazing worship and teaching.

We received a phone call on Monday morning that the sink was backing up. I wasn’t too worried since the basement sink often backed up. But this wasn’t the basement sink. It was the basement sink, the kitchen sink, the dishwasher, and the disposal. Yep, something is seriously wrong.

But it’s not just the plumbing. My #1 & #2, sons, are both hobbling around on crutches. #1 went down on his ankle over the weekend while playing in a basketball tournament. #2 aggravated his femur fracture from the past summer while at camp.

Why is it that the mountain top high never last longer than the fall from the top. Every time you start to feel good about what you do, you find yourself staring down the barrel of misery.

I’m not the only one. A number of youth workers left the conference this weekend only to find messages from angry parents, mean messages for the elder board, to missed deadlines, loss, family issues, joblessness, and church conflict. The party’s over.

So tomorrow, my wife will call the plumber to come and take a look at the situation. I’ll head off to work to get ready for our winter retreat this coming weekend. And life will go on.

Am I sad to have left SYMC, only to deal with the realities of life. Absolutely not! I am exciting to get back into the office, to get ready for the retreat, to spend time with my students, and to spend time with my leaders. Because while life has its ups and downs, THIS is the life God has called me to live. And I know that He will never give me more than I can handle.

– jay

Leave a Reply

