Your First Two Years…A Must Have Resource

As I start the new year I’ve decided to go back and re-read some of my most favorite Youth Ministry Resources. These are the books and tools that I love and have helped to shape my ministry to students.

I have two purposes for this. The first is to re-tool. I think it’s a good idea for youth workers to be always refining their skills, passions, and techniques. I hope to glean some new insight, maybe a few reminders, and refresh my passion for students and youth ministry.

The second purpose involves the quickly approaching Simply Youth Ministry Conference in March. As I prepare for SYMC and the part I will share in this years conference, I want to come with my best, ready to offer myself to the youth workers who will be in attendance.

So the first book I’ve pulled from the shelf is Doug Fields’, Your First Two Years in Youth Ministry. This was an amazing book for me when I read it the first time. This time, and with much more understanding, experience, wisdom, and with fresh-eyes, I’m looking for the nuggets of truth and wisdom that I missed the first time through.

I’m excited to share this journey with you, so expect some thoughts not only on this book, but on all twelve books that I re-read throughout the year. It’s one a month (along with the 12 NEW writing I want to read this year).

– jay

Leave a Reply

