5 Must Read Books for Ministry

I never liked to read. But as I look towards a longer career in Youth Ministry, I have really enjoyed reading books that have helped to disciple my heart, encourage my ministry, provide practical tools, resources and help, and remind me the importance of being a husband, father, and man of God.

For the last couple of weeks, I have been thinking about the books that have had an impact on my life and ministry. So I thought I’d share some of the titles here on the blog. After they post here, you will find them listed under the Resources Tab, along with a little more info for each title.

I hope these might be helpful for you.

5 Must Read Books, Part 1

1 – Purpose Driven Youth Ministry; Doug Fields (Youth Ministry)

2 – Youth Culture 101; Walt Mueller (Culture & Trends)

3 – Don’t Waste Your Life; John Piper (Personal Growth & Discipleship)

4 – The Power of a Praying Husband; Stormie Omartian (Family Life)

5 – Crazy Love; Francis Chan (Ministry & Life)

I’ll have another list next week!

– jay

3 thoughts on “5 Must Read Books for Ministry

    • Ken, Thanks for the comment. The Power Of A Praying Husband, was a book I read early in our marriage and ministry. The value of praying for your wife is a gift that no amount of financial gain could ever match. As youth workers, we learn how to deal with the criticisms, hours, routines, emergencies, people, conflicts, and events of the church and church life. Too often, our wives get sucked into our world and become the unexpected target of all things good and bad. Likewise, there is a danger in the business of ministry life where we can loose sight of the importance of fulfilling our role as husband, and sometimes father, for the sake of the Kingdom. The Power Of A Praying Husband, reminds me to where my heart, attention, and prayers should be; with and for my wife and my children.

      I want to love my wife and support her as she serves as friend, wife, mother, supporter, encourager, and lover. She is a part of who I am, and I need to take care of that part.

      Try reading it again. I read it as my daily devotional, reading a chapter a day, then praying Stormies’ prayers at the end of each chapter. It will make you a better husband, if you let the Spirit work through the words.

      Thanks for reading the blog!

      – jay

      Like

Leave a Reply

