What I’ve Learned From 3 Weeks of Camp Pt. 1

I am just about done with my third week of camp. I have finished 1 full week of Day Camp, 1 seven day resident camp, and half way through the second week of Day Camp. By the end of the summer I’ll have 4 weeks total.

The theme for the summer at the camp I’m helping out with is, Relentless; God’s Relentless Pursuit of His People. The focus of the theme is Abram (Abraham) how God relieves His love for us through Abraham’s life.

I have taught though the prepared materials twice, almost three times, and I am amazed at how quickly I forget the very lessons I teach.

Day One: We take time to go back to the Garden to see God demonstrate His love for man by placing him in a beautiful Garden providing for all of his needs. But man messes things up, disobeys God’s command, and thinks he can handle things on his own. Man’s pride brings him down, while God’s love brings him back up.

Love brings God to a place where He covers the mans guilt and shame through an appropriate and acceptable sacrifice.

From the Garden we make a huge jump to the Tower of Babel. Here, man’s pride; the desire to “make a name for ourselves,” pushes the people to built a spectacular city with a tower that reaches to heaven. Again the dependence on God shifts to an independence of self. The human heart says, look what we can do. But God will not allow the people to live without Him. He says, “If as one people speaking the same language they have begun to do this, then nothing they plan to do will be impossible for them. Come, let us go down and confuse their language so they will not understand each other.” (Genesis 11:6,7niv)

Every time I begin to build my tower, the “language” around me changes and I find myself in the middle of complete confusion! Just when I think I am on top and in control, God pulls the pride card, and down I fall. Three times I told my campers that God wants to take care of them, to provide for them, and that they need to depend on and trust Him. 3 times, and I still need to be reminded.

God wants His people to depend on Him. God wants ME to depend on Him. God wants YOU to depend on Him. Do you? Do I?

I want to depend on Him.

– jay

ps…I will be sharing all five days of lessons over the next couple of days, so tune in!

Leave a Reply

