Lead Me – Sanctus Real

By now you must have heard the new radio single, Lead Me, from Sanctus Real. As soon as I heard it, I felt the conviction of the lyrics. And while I know I’m not a touring lead singer, the message should speak to the heart of every husband who shares the call of ministry. Too often we can allow “ministry” to swallow us up, leaving our wives and our families with whatever is left. And in youth ministry, you know that doesn’t leave much.

Sanctus Real lead singer, Matt , shares the story behind the song. Check it out.

The Story Behind “Lead Me” – Sanctus Real from BrightBulb Entertainment on Vimeo.

It’s a struggle to balance ministry and family. No matter how well you think you have things figured out, you will always think, “Am I giving this all that is needed?” I can spend hours fine tuning my calendar; working it out so that the appropriate time is given to students, administration, my wife, my kids, and myself, and at the end of the week still wish I had spent more time with one or the other.

I learned a very important rule from Andy Stanley, many years ago. Where are you willing to cheat? In the of greater scheme of things, I am a Follower first, husband second, father third. Beyond that it doesn’t matter. I dream big. I’m always looking for what’s coming next. I am always looking at life through ministry eyes. But the danger in always thinking ministry to students is that I forget about the ministry to my families. I am called to care for my wife and kids first. God is big enough to take care of the ministry that I can’t.

“So Father, give me the strength
To be everything I’m called to be
Oh, Father, show me the way
To lead them
Won’t You lead me?

To lead them with strong hands
To stand up when they can’t
Don’t want to leave them hungry for love,
Chasing things that I could give up

I’ll show them I’m willing to fight
And give them the best of my life
So we can call this our home
Lead me, ’cause I can’t do this alone

Father, lead me, ’cause I can’t do this alone” – Lead Me, Sanctus Real.

As you dream ministry for 2010-2011, take some time to think about your first ministry; your wife and family. There will always be a student in need of your time. There will always be an activity to plan. There will always be a book to read. There will always a parent to meet with. And there will always be an elder/deacon to deal with. But you only get the family God gives you and the time He allows before their gone.

– jay

2 thoughts on “Lead Me – Sanctus Real

  1. I found your sight when lookiing for the Lyrics for “Lead Me”. I have heard the song before but today As I was listening to KLove it was like the first time the Lord opened my ears. I love your input about being in ministry and forgeting your family. I feel that this is a song that all men should really hear the Lyrics to. Everyone wants to change the world sometimes our families are forgotten in the midst and we just figure that we will trust God and be a good example. They will eventually just follow, because we trust God will speak to them too. But there are so many times where we just have to be there for them first and we get our priorities a bit mixed up. Our first “ministry ” is in our homes. Especially fathers. We women need our husbands to be the head of our homes so much more now as the world goes crazy around us. Thank you so myuch for yoru transperency and honesty. From a wife in ministry.

    Like

Leave a Reply

