LOTR – The Two Towers

I am really excited about Thursday. I am opening 121 Center Place so we can watch the second episode of The Lord of the Rings, The Two Towers. Last year a group of students and I got together to watch The Fellowship of the Ring, the extended version. We had hoped to watch all three, extended, versions but we were not able to schedule it into the calendar.

So tomorrow, we will watch the next installment.

But this is more than sitting around watching a movie. This is important ministry. After what will be 20 years in ministry this year, there is a scripture that has really started hitting me at home.

19Though I am free and belong to no man, I make myself a slave to everyone, to win as many as possible. 20To the Jews I became like a Jew, to win the Jews. To those under the law I became like one under the law (though I myself am not under the law), so as to win those under the law. 21To those not having the law I became like one not having the law (though I am not free from God’s law but am under Christ’s law), so as to win those not having the law. 22To the weak I became weak, to win the weak. I have become all things to all men so that by all possible means I might save some. 23I do all this for the sake of the gospel, that I may share in its blessings. – 1 Corinthians 9:19-23 niv.

As a youth pastor, being able to connect with students and their varying interests becomes a crucial. While we cannot expect to develop an intimate bond with every student, it is important that we do what we can to find a connection with all of our students.

Paul understood the need to build relationships with people of different races, interests; becoming all things to all men so that by all means possible he might save some. In the last couple years I have found myself learning about dogs, cattle, horses, books, movies, music, along with all sorts to sports, gadgets, devices, and anything else that deals with technology.

To reach the students, we need to know a little about what interests the students. Then meet them where they are. But here’s the caution; DON’T FAKE IT! Take the time to learn about what interests you students. Knowing a little something will make your next one on one go a little smoother.

– jay

Leave a Reply

