Planning Ahead, When Do You Start Your Calendar?

So Sunday was our last night of Crossroads at 121 Center Place for the 2009-2010 school year. This morning, I started sorting through the piles of paper, lead sheets, props, game supplies, scattered sound equipment, and weekly worship schedules that have collected throughout the year. Over the next two weeks I will be putting things away, repairing broken chairs, cleaning, throwing out the junk, and organizing the storage rooms for better use next year. It’s my “spring” cleaning!

Four weeks ago, I printed out blank calendars for September 2010 through May 2011, and started plugging in the annual events and activities that students look forward to each year. Three weeks ago, I started praying about the topics that would lead to our 2010-2011 teaching series. Two weeks ago, I started writing out those ideas and shaping them into general outlines. Last week, I typed up the tentative calendar for the coming school.

Now, I’m not writing this to show you how well I plan, nor the process I use to develop the student ministry calendar. No, I want to know, am I the only crazy youth pastor who plans his coming ministry calendar before the current year is over?

When do you begin to plan for the coming year? What are you looking to accomplish when you plan? How do you go about developing your calendar; activities, weekly meetings, Bible studies, small groups, etc? How far ahead is ahead; 12 months, 6 months, 3 months, 1 month, 1 week, 1 day?

I’d like to think that there are others like me who plan ahead, but is there anyone else who plans a whole year in advance?

If you got a few minutes, share your planning process in the comment box. I’d love to see how you prepare for your ministry. And later this week, I will post our 2010-2011 calendar for Crossroads Student Ministry.

– jay

Leave a Reply

