I Hate Being Sick, But I Love My Wife

I woke this morning just like any morning. It was just like any other morning with one exception, Amy wasn’t in bed. Apparently she was up around 2am not feeling very well. Then, while getting dressed, my daughter decided she was feeling well. Two down, 5 to go.

I got the boys to school, while my wife and daughter camped out on the sofa watching movies, and fighting nausea, among other issues. With the boys all at school, and with my wives encouragement, I went to the office. But by 10am, I was in the bathroom, dealing with some similar symptoms. By lunch, I was well on my way. By 1:30pm. I was packing up the computer and a few things that needed to get done today, and I was heading home. I canceled all student activities for the rest of the day, made some quick phone calls, and tried to take care of some of that, Must-Get-Done work.

By 2:30, I was toast. My insides were outside, and my head was swimming. Time to raise the white flag. So much to my chagrin, I put on my iTunes worship playlist, crawled into bed, and tried to sleep off the “sickness.” Fortunately, my wife was already on the rebound. So while the evening was “fatherless,” Amy was able to fly solo; dinner, homework, baseball practice, etc. (She is an amazing woman.)

I hate being sick. I don’t get sick often, but when I do, it’s usually a big deal. Now, I’m not wimping out or anything. It’s that I wait till I am being hammered before I give in. When I do give in, all I want is some time to sleep it off. I don’t need any pampering or sympathy. I just want to be left alone so I can get better.

So this afternoon and evening was spent sleeping. With exceptions for the handful of trips to the bathroom, I was in bed, asleep.

I woke again around 7:45/8:00 p.m. The noise on the second floor was growing. It was bath and bed time, and I could tell that Amy was getting frustrated. Not that I’d be any real help, I left the warmth of my bed to join the battle.

Now it’s after 10pm. I have been awake for about 3 hours. I’ve had some jello!, some gatoraide, and watched a little TV. (I have been sucked into ABC’s “V”. Soo good.) Amy is feeling better, albeit, very tired. And I, too, am beginning to feel a little better. I am hoping for an event-free night with all five kids. Really praying no one else gets this thing.

With any luck, I’ll be back in the office tomorrow, catching up on what didn’t get done today. But right now, I’m thanking God for a wife/mother, who again proved why she is sooo amazing! Thank you, God, for great wives!

– jay

Leave a Reply

