Verse of the Day – 01.08.10

“Before I formed you in the womb, I knew you, before you were born I set you apart; I appointed you as a prophet to the nations.” – Jeremiah 1:5niv.

How many of us struggle with who we are? When we look in the mirror, too often we dislike what we see. Our nose is too big. Our eyes are too far spread apart. Our hair is thin and straight instead of thick and curly. Are teeth could be straighter and our smile brighter.

We wish we were more like that one or this one. We become jealous because they can do what we can not, go where we can not, and experience what we can not. We see who we are and we see who they are, and suddenly, we are not as exciting, talented, gifted, or special as they are.

Jeremiah was in his early twenties when God spoke into his life and called him to serve as a prophet to the people. The Lord said to him, “Before I formed you in the womb I knew you, before you were born I set you apart…” (Jeremiah 1:5a&b.)

To this Jeremiah responded, “I do not know how to speak; I am only a child.”

God was calling Jeremiah to an exciting and mighty ministry. He would be the one to “uproot and tear down, to destroy and overthrow, to build and to plant.” (Jeremiah 1:10b) But all that Jeremiah saw was what he knew; that he was just a kid.

How many times have we turned down an opportunity to do something amazing because we saw only the image in the mirror instead of looking into the eyes of the One who rules in our hearts? We serve a God who knew us before we were born. Before He began to form us in the womb, He planned for all that we would need. He set us apart for a purpose and gifted us with abilities to carry out that purpose.

I love how God responds to Jeremiah. “Do not say, ‘I am only a child.’ You must go to everyone I send you to and say whatever I command you. Do not be afraid of them, for I am with you and will rescue you,” declares the Lord.

What a promise?!

Can we claim that promise as our own? We can if we’re ready to see what God is doing in our life and embrace who he has made us to be. Live each day knowing that you are called and that God is with and He will rescue you.

– jay

One thought on “Verse of the Day – 01.08.10

Leave a Reply

