TIC LONG is my hero!

I know I should be working on this Sunday’s message, but I can’t focus while inside, I am celebrating the news that Tic Long is the new director at Youth Specialties. I need to talk about it. And since I am stuck in the land of snow, also known as Somerset, PA. the internet is my only avenue to sing the praises!

Tic is my hero. I have been a die-hard YS supporter and promoter since my first convention in 1999. As I’ve blogged before, YS quickly became my home away from home. It was the place where I felt appreciated, understood, and valued. YS gets youth ministry. But Tic gets youth workers.

Last year, my heart broke as the news of Tic’s dismissal made it’s way around the youth ministry world. For me, it meant the loss of a friend, supporter, and mentor. In 2008, I served on the NYWC volunteer staff, and met Tic more intimately while sharing lunch with him at the end of the Nashville Convention. In our conversation, I heard his heart for youth workers. While we were eating, a youth worker slipped Tic a note. I did not read the note, but as Tic did, his countenance fell. It was though his heart was breaking. He shared that the letter said that this particular youth worker was struggling and that he was most likely leaving ministry and had hoped that the convention might help him.

Tic cares for youth workers. Simply talk with him and you will see how much he loved what he did. The NYWC was not just a convention, it was a place where youth workers could find hope, love, care, and strength. And Tic made sure that was happening.

Is Tic’s return a good thing? Absolutely! I love YS (I secretly dream I was on staff…but don’t tell anyone.) I love that they love youth workers.

Tic, if you read this, welcome home. I am so glad that YS has it’s Heart back! I pray that God will use you to lead YS into 2010 and this new decade to reach youth workers, build them up, and send them out to impact the world, one student at a time!

And I look forward to serving with you in Nashville in 2010.

Okay. Now I feel better. Time to get back to work. I hope.

TIC’S BACK!!!!! Man, that’s awesome!

Leave a comment