An Unplugged New Years

Happy Sunday Afternoon, blog readers. It’s been a couple of days since I posted anything, so let me update you with what’s going on.

On Christmas Eve I had the privilege of leading and preaching at the 4:00 Family Service at St. Paul’s. It was the first time in three years at St. Paul’s that I was able to “step into” the pulpit. It was a great service and a packed house, and I really loved being up in front of a congregation again. But as much as I loved it, I don’t know when I might be there again. At our November congregational meeting, St. Paul’s called a new associate who will fill the pulpit whenever our lead pastor is not able to. Regardless, I hope to be in the pulpit again.

Following Christmas, the family traveled to Philadelphia to visit my parents for 5 days. We returned to the mountain late Wednesday afternoon; just in time for my wife to go to work and for me to take our oldest to a basketball scrimmage that was planned while we were away. Thursday was spent shoveling, sitting in a building meeting, and unpacking from the trip. That night we barely stayed awake for the “ringing in” of the new year.

Friday morning I unplugged for the weekend; stepping away from my email, texting, twittering, facebooking, and my cell phone. I didn’t even touch the MacBook. While it felt weird to not be updating status’, it was nice to not have the distraction.

Nonetheless, it’s Sunday; a day of rest and worship. And that’s what I am doing today; resting and enjoying God and the blessing He has shared with me. With the exception of my eldest’s basketball game at 4:00, I have no plans but to rest.

I want to start the new year by being intentional with my time; hanging out with the kids, enjoying who God is shaping them to be, cherishing time with my wife, and spending time in the presence of God. Today is the perfect day to do just that!

I’m going to grab a nap before we head out to the game. I will be back to making daily posts starting Monday, January 04, 2010. Till then, enjoy your day celebrating God’s goodness and grace in your life.

Happy New Year!!

– jay

Leave a Reply

